In co-operation with Irish Week/the Irish Film Festival, NES is proud to present a one-hour discussion on world economics featuring Irish economist, columnist, and TV presenter, David McWilliams. The discussion will be moderated by Gerard Michael Mac Carthy, founder of Irish Week.

The discussion will include an overview of the global economic situation including: hot issues and economic flashpoints we should all we aware of; Trump’s America and its effect on global economics; how Russia is seen in the West from an economic point of view;  globalisation; the gap between the haves and have-nots; over-population; the threat to world water supply; climate change; the employment revolution due to AI; Brexit – what is it, what does it mean for the UK, for Ireland, for the European idea, for the rest of the world.

REGISTER HERE

David McWilliams is an Irish economist, journalist, author and documentary filmmaker. David is Adjunct Professor of international Economics at the school of business in Trinity College Dublin. In 2017, he was ranked 10thmost influential economist in the world and is the third most followed economist in the world on twitter. He is the author of five bestsellers, one of which “The Pope’s Children” is the best-selling non-fiction book published in Ireland in the past twenty years. He writes a weekly column for the Irish Times and is a regular contributor to the Financial Times.

David has dedicated his professional activities to the goal of making the economy accessible and understandable to the widest possible audience. In this regard, together with Irish Week guest Richard Cook, he co-founded Kilkenomics economic stand-up festival, which The Financial Times called “the best economic conference in the world”.

McWilliams worked as an economist at the Central Bank of Ireland (Central Bank of Ireland), was chief economist at Swiss Bank ‘UBS’, the largest in Europe, and directed the research of emerging markets in the National Bank of Paris (Banque Nationale de Paris).

Gerard Michael Mac Carthy

Gerard Michael Mac Carthy is the former head of Enterprise Ireland, the Irish government agency for exports, innovation, and investment in Russia/CIS. He was the Irish Trade and Commerce representative on the Ireland-Russian Joint Economic Commission from 2011-2018. He is also a writer, film director, producer and scriptwriter, and is the co-founder of Irish Week, the Irish Film Festival, and SUBTITLE festival in Moscow. His new short film, “Restoration” (29 min) will be completed in April.

Встреча с экономистом Дэвидом МакУильямсом
David McWilliams: Economics lecture

В сотрудничестве с Irish Week/ирландским кинофестивалем, РЭШ с гордостью представляет часовую дискуссию о мировой экономике с участием ирландского экономиста, обозревателя и телеведущего Дэвида МакУильямса. Модератором дискуссии выступит основатель Irish Week Джерард Майкл Мак Карти.

Обсуждение будет включать в себя обзор глобальной экономической ситуации, в том числе: горячие вопросы и экономические вспышки, о которых мы все должны знать; Америка Трампа и ее влияние на глобальную экономику; как Россию видят на Западе с экономической точки зрения; глобализация; разрыв между имущими и неимущими; перенаселенность; угроза мировому водоснабжению; изменение климата; революция занятости из-за ИИ; Брексит – что это, что это значит для Великобритании, для Ирландии, для европейской идеи, для остального мира.

РЕГИСТРАЦИЯ: https://nes.timepad.ru/event/926611/

Дэвид МакУильямс

Ирландский экономист, журналист, автор и документалист. Дэвид является профессором международной экономики в Школе бизнеса в Тринити Колледж в Дублине (Trinity Business School, Trinity College Dublin). Мак Уильямс работал в качестве экономиста в Центральном банке Ирландии (Central Bank of Ireland), был главным экономистом в швейцарском банке UBS, крупнейшем в Европе, и возглавлял исследования развивающихся рынков в Национальном банке Парижа (Banque Nationale de Paris). Не так давно он стал
телеведущим и документалистом на ирландских телеканалах TV3 и RTÉ, а также
опубликовал четыре книги: The Pope’s Children, The Generation Game, Follow the Money и
The Good Room. Дэвид ведет еженедельную колонку для The Irish Times и новый проект
Punk Economics для The Financial Times.
Дэвид посвящает свою профессиональную деятельность цели сделать экономику доступной и понятной как можно более широкой аудитории. В связи с этим вместе с еще одним гость Irish Week, Ричардом Куком, он стал сооснователем фестиваля стенд-апа на экономические темы Kilkenomics, который газета The Financial Times назвала “лучшей конференцией по экономике в мире”.

Джерард Майкл Мак Карти – бывший глава Enterprise Ireland, ирландского Государственного агентства по экспорту, инновациям и инвестициям в России/СНГ. В 2011-2018 гг. являлся представителем Ирландии по торговле и коммерции в Ирландско-Российском межправительственном экономическом комитете. Он также является писателем, режиссером, продюсером и сценаристом; соучредителем Irish Week, Ирландского Кинофестиваля, и фестиваля SUBTITLE в Москве. Его новый короткометражный фильм “Реставрация” (29 мин) будет завершен в апреле.

 

15 марта 18:30
РЭШ – Московская Биржа
ул. Воздвиженка, д.4/7, стр.1

РЕГИСТРАЦИЯ